Amish made hardwood

It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 6:46 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Place to buy Bona Kemi Traffic
PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 9:17 am 
Newbie Contributor

Does anyone know of a place one can purchase Bona Kemi Traffic if not an offical flooring contractor. I am a licensed commercial building contractor in the Boston area but not a hardwood flooring contractor. Also I want to use it over floors that had been previously finished in 3 coats of oil based poly. Can I do this with just a screening on the poly? thanks for any info.

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 10:47 am 
Most Valuable Contributor

I recommend a pro for recoating. Some older floors have had their existing finishes contaminated by various household cleaning products which may make the bonding of new finish difficult. Hire a pro for your recoat.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 12:03 pm 
Worthy Contributor

Scott,

Gary is right; there is a lot to deal with when screening and recoating floors. I do not know your experience level with floors but sanding and finishing is probably considered to be the top of the art behind marquetry. If you are not experienced it is very easy to create artifacts in the finish such as chatter marks from the sander and impurities on the wood that cause delaminating. There are a lot of variables that can be major gotchas. In saying that, I will answer your questions if you are determined to do it yourself.

1. Most flooring shops can order it from their supplier for you, you just have to call some and ask.

2. Yes you can most likely get away with a screen and recoat. If any oil soaps or wax have been used on the floor at any point it will cause the new coat to delaminate. You must use a cleaner to insure that all wax residue is off of the floor. It is safe to assume that a wax / oil has been used on the floor at some point in time.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: