Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 11:16 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Plywood over concrete
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 8:31 am 
New User

I am a newbie and need some advice regarding the subfloor. I am installing 3/4 plywood over concrete. When fastening the plywood to the concrete, do I use both glue and some kind of fasteners such as tapcons, nails, ... What's the preferred choice among tapcons, nails, hilti? Thank you.

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:33 am 
Prized Contributor

Tapcons work.

But first you need to test the concrete for vapor emissions, that you cannot see.

Are you using a vapor barrier?

What are the fasteners(tapcons) going to do to the moisture barrier?

Have you planned on this, and taken steps to prevent concrete moisture intrusion?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 12:09 pm 
New User

Thanks for the response Floorguy.
I am going to use a vapor barrier, a product from BR111 called StrateStuff Substrate Safeguard. On top of this, I will use a 6mil poly barrier.
Tapcons might take forever to drill (1000 sqft). It would be faster if I use a power tools like Aerosith's SurePIN, Ramset M150 driving nails to concrete. I am just wondering what the 'Pros' use?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 6:58 pm 
Most Valuable Contributor

If you cut your ply into 4x4 panels and cut 3/8" kerfs in the backside, you can rely mostly on the adhesive to do the holding. I prefer to glue and nail plywood to concrete and use 1&1/2" fluted masonry nails hand driven with a 2lb. sledge hammer. 1000 sq.ft. of ply is alot of work. In this case, the areosmith or similar makes sense. I've used powder activated (Hilti)and don't care for them.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 8:57 pm 
Valued Contributor

This product outshines tapcons and PA fasteners.

http://www.ramset-redhead.com/redidrive_prod01.asp