Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 7:43 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Popping sound on 5/16 br-111
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 8:38 pm 
New User

Hi everyone, I'm new here as of tonight. Many friendly installers here may not be pleased to know that I am a self taught installer with no real training.... So if anyone could have mercy on me I am in need of some assistance. Here is the problem. I recently installed a 5/16 BR-111 Mahogany. The customer had a 1/2 inch plywood subfloor over 16" joists. Because of the height difference between floors the customer wanted me to add a 1/4" layer of plywood. After doing that I layed down the rosin paper and started installing the flooring using an old Stanley bostitch floor runner with 21 gauge staples. But I notcied when I walked on the floor that i could hear popping or snapping sounds. So I called BR-111 and was told that is could have something to do with microscopic beads of silca. I was a little confused with the explanation but was told that it might go away after it was walked on for awhile. So I continued to install floor. But this time I started using a Highpro as-4090 with 18 gauge staples. This seemed to help the problem , but did not completely get rid of it. Finaly I noticed that the snapping sounds were coming from some flexibilty in the boards. What I mean is, if I pushed my weight onto the groove end it would flex down a little and rub the tounge end of the board in the previous row back. I did fix this in a couple of spots by face nailing a 2" brad about 1/2" from the groove end and filling it. But the thought of putting face nails all over the floor makes me cringe. Has anyone encountered this problem before? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 6:04 am