Amish made hardwood

It is currently Wed May 08, 2024 5:07 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Questions about non-poly finishes
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2023 10:32 am 
New User

For being a carpenter myself, I'm actually pretty naive on the pros and cons and options of finishes for hardwood flooring.

I'll try to brief my situation and criteria:
I've built a house out of materials salvaged from a dismantled farmhouse. The entire house is old wood floor. My wife and I specifically avoided drum sanding the flooring once installed, because we didn't want to remove all of the age marks from the surface. I skated over the surface pretty well with a rotary style sander that floats on a foam pad, which for us did a pretty good balance of knocking superficial crud off while leaving most of the aged color. The floor has already been stained with Minwax.
Clearly a flawless appearance is not the number one priority.

I come out the gate with a resistance to polyurethane, because 1. we are going to have a house full of active lively children and I don't want to have to think twice about scratch damage, 2. we don't want any sheen other than perhaps a subtly saturated look, and 3. my mind revolts against the idea that I'm living on top of a layer of plastic instead of actual wood.

The thing is, polyurethane is mostly what I've been around, and I don't know much about the more old-fashioned options. My two main concerns are 1. how much water exposure does it take to start marring a non-poly finish (muddy boots, mopping, spills cleaned up within a minute or two...), and 2. how well does a non-poly finish harden, in terms of locking down splinters?
Being a salvaged floor, there are definitely a few concave rough spots that a sander can't easily get out... I just want socks to be able to glide around without fear.
My wife is concerned about the floor turning milky every time water gets on it, or getting water stain splotches everywhere.