Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 5:15 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Radio Wave Technology For Hardwood Floors
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 4:26 am 
Site Admin

It was part of a demonstration put on by John Namba at the NWFA. Looking at the title before hand I actually thought it was about moisture testing. I'm not good at this technical stuff like Stephen (Floormeintucson) is. It was pretty interesting in using what was originally used as a carpet seam sealer.

Used for starter and last boards on wood sub floors. No more top nailing. Anybody heard about it before?

I didn't get much video on it because my battery was about to run out. No backup

Uptown was created by your administrator, offering my high quality 3/4" engineered floors made in the USA. Unfinished and prefinished.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Radio Wave Technology For Hardwood Floors
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 11:02 am 
Prized Contributor

Yes I know Jon Namba, he certified me once. The Koolglide irons been around for awhile and seems all the kinks are out of it. Used alot more these days than the traditional carpet seaming iron and better foor sensitive natural fibers.

So they made a utility tape and found it works well for starter rows. But I'm not sold on the possibility of it not letting the floor move with wood flooring adhesives and or fasteners. I guess you could always pull the starter rows. But its an expensive iron and tape so why use it when you can just shoot down a sacrificial row with a 16 ga nailer. But if Jon's selling it it must work. Also can be used for plank repair, even on floaters.

I bet Jon gets paid well by them. Jon also demonstrated the Titebond wood floor double faced tape which you can use for starter rows as well but it does not hold as well as the iron.