Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 7:25 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Recommendation on staples / cleats please ?
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 6:12 am 
Newbie Contributor

Hi,

I'm about to embark on my first wood flooring installation. I have just over 1050sq ft of 3/4" Maple Solid Hardwood, to install onto a 3/4" Plywood sub-floor. Home is in SW Florida and was built in 2009. This is all going on the 2nd story, so none over concrete. Currently there's carpet and foam underlayment on top of the plywood subfloor. Which is obviously all coming out.

I'll be using HWD-15 single ply, asphalt saturated, kraft paper, as an underlayment.

I've purchased the el-cheapo (as i'm not a pro) Harbor Freight 2-in-1 Flooring nailer / stapler. http://www.harborfreight.com/2-in-1-flo ... 61689.html

Which works with L-Cleat nails from 1-1/2" long to 2" long and floor staples from 1" to 2"

I'm not sure what's the best to go with ? Cleats or Staples ? Also 1 1/2" or 2" What do you guys in the know recommend ?

For the first couple of rows, where there will not be enough room for the Flooring nailer / stapler, i picked up another 'el cheapo Harbor Freight 2-in1 Nailer / Stapler. http://www.harborfreight.com/18-gauge-2 ... 68019.html That takes 18 gauge brad nails 5/8" to 2" and 18 gauge narrow crown staples from 5/8" to 1-1/2"

I also have a stair case to do, and i guess i'll use construction glue and the brad nailer for that. But again, any advice on what lengths to use, would be really appreciated.

Actually any tips you guys can throw my way, would be really appreciated. :D Thanks in advance.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Recommendation on staples / cleats please ?
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 7:23 am 
Valued Contributor