Amish made hardwood

It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 6:02 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Refinishing fir floor that has been waxed
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 8:26 pm 
New User

Hello forum!

I am a 20 year veteran of the automotive refinish industry,but have never refinished a floor. Just pulled up the carpets in my newly acquired 1922 craftsman and found some nice VG fir.Though the existing finish has been worn through in a few spots I am considering a light sand a recoat instead of stripping completely. someone got sloppy while repainting these rooms years ago so I need to do a light sand to remove spilled pain. One of the rooms looks great,but appears to have a coat of wax over the old oil finish. My question is how to effectively remove the wax from that room,and what is a good DIY finish to use? Also,what grit is preferred for a recoat where you are not removing all of the finish? Is a 150 grit too coarse? Because the rooms,and hallway are small,I am planning to just use my random orbit palm sander and some sweat.

Any advice is much appreciated!!

Cheers!

B.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: refinihing fir that has been waxed
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:18 pm 
Prized Contributor

once a floor is waxed the only way to completely remove the wax is a full sanding. you can test for wax with some mineral sprits or water for that matter. Also you put a piece of 150 down on some wax you might get a foot before the paper is clogged up and useless.
Recoating a old finished floor usually id go with a 180 screen or the Norton sandollars. They are awesome for intercoat abrasion. Vg fir is a softer wood so it should sand pretty easy once the old finish/wax is removed. id HIGHLY recommend going and renting a clarke 18" square buffer for the job you want to do, a orbital sander on a entire floor is like digging a ditch with a spoon.

www.HeartlandHardwoodFlooring.com

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:21 pm 
Prized Contributor