Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 4:57 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Sanding and staining Newbie questions
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:58 pm 
New User

Hi, I am a newbie and want to get my lighter floors sanded and stained a dark walnut color. I have 1350sqft and will be hiring a contractor, here are my questions and comments.

1) My hardwood floor depth is between min 3/8" (0.375") and max 7/16"(0.4375"). Can these refinished or are they too thin? One contractor said $2.70/sqft and one said $1.80/sqft. Each will do 3 coats. Is this price fair or too high?

2) I want a flat or not shiny/glossy look. Which coats will be used when contractor says total of 3 coats? Which company stain and poly should I keep an eye for? I want be sure they are not using cheap products. I want good quality but want to make sure its not arm and leg. Any other suggestions I should apply on the floors?

3) The contractor said it will take 3 days. 1 day to sand and apply 1st coat. 2nd day will be 2nd coat. 3rd day will be final coat and shoe molding. Is this time amount fair?

4) any other suggestions I should know or question my contractor?

Thank you and greatly appreciated!

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Sanding and staining Newbie questions
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 11:14 pm 
Prized Contributor