Amish made hardwood

It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 5:55 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Sanding question and a little history
PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2020 11:35 am 
Newbie Contributor

Ahoy all, I have been a flooring contractor for 30+ years. From high end carpets to commercial sheet and heat welding to vinyl planks, cork, rubber, engineered wood and solids. Since my hip replacement a year and a half ago and by my surgeons recommendation, I quit doing carpet. I have decided to pick up the slack by adding wood refinishing to my offered services. Now, I have a firm grasp on paper sequences as well using my new belt sander, direct drive, edger and the other small fortune of tools and equipment I have purchased but lack experience. I also attended the Bona school in Denver and hav read A LOT but this never replaces the hands on experience you guys have from being on the job. My first question is as follows - I just installed a 3/4 white oak floor in a master bed room addition. I weaved a 3, 5 & 7 width plank into an existing hallway and throughout. where the new construction meets the old there was a small height difference and it carried though a couple tight areas (halls). I "edgered" them down and floated but I know in the end those slopes are still there. Q - would you recommend cross cutting the grain on my first cut (where sanding with the grain is not possible) with the belt sander to achieve a truly flat floor or use the direct drive with hard plates? My over/under is (typically) pretty drastic and I need to remove a 1/16 to 1/8 of an inch to make the wood to tile transition smooth anyway.
Your advice is appreciated... Be well

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Sanding question and a little history
PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2020 10:27 pm 
Prized Contributor

If you weaved into the older floor you must have matched the T&G so the weave in was successful.