Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sat May 18, 2024 7:18 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Sanding Schedule
PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2005 1:09 pm 
New User

Hey guys, I am a newbie to the flooring industry and have a question...Currently I only do installations, I do not have the experience or money for equipment to offer sanding and finishing as one of my services. When I get jobs that require sanding and finishing I have a company that I have established a good partnership with that I sub out the sanding and finishing to. However, I have a small job (less than 200 sf) for a friend in July that will require installation and sand, finish that I would like to take a stab at sanding and finishing myself. I have sanded a few floors and have learned enough to do small jobs (mainly for friends and family) myself. I will be installing unfinished red oak, 2 1/4" x 3/4". My question is about the sanding/screening schedule. Here is what I was thinking would be the way to do it, but would appreciate some feedback from some more experienced finishers:
First pass with 40 grit on drum and edger.
Second pass with 80 grit on drum and edger.
Buffer with 120 grit screen and orbital with 60 grit to blend in edger and drum.
Next: is it recommended to seal/treat the floor...if so what sealer do you recommend.
Than I was going to coat with Minwax duraseal poly, than screen with old 120 grit screen.
Than a second coat of Minwax duraseal poly, than buff with white pad.
Than lastly one more coat of the Minwax duraseal poly.
As for applying the finish is it recommended to roll it on or use a t-bar.

I hope to be able to do enough small sand/finish jobs to one day be able to do all sanding and finishing myself (hopefully in a year or two) to really become a "full service" operation, but for now I will just practice on friends and family :)
Any advice and feedback on this topic would be GREATLY APPRECIATED
Thanks in advance.

Matt Fisher
Raleigh NC

Amish made hardwood