Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2024 11:36 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Sanding Sealer Issues
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2020 4:09 pm 
New User

I am refinishing a floor on a house I'm fixing up. This is my first time doing a floor and leaving it "natural" instead of using stain. Someone has tried to sand the floor before, and in one room there are horrible drum sander marks I was able to make look a bit better, but not great. The other room and hallway look better.
My issue is with sanding sealer. The polyurethane I bought says that if you are using it on natural white oak, you should use sanding sealer first. What a pita this product has been!
It's my first time using it, and I sort of assumed it would look like wood conditioner...Um it doesn't. The label didn't say anything about how to apply or it leaving marks so I went on my way and applied it without a ton of care to how it was going on. It left applicator marks on the floor, it looks uneven and I about hyperventilated when I saw how it dried. It really highlights the divot marks, and there were very clear start and stop lines from the applicator :|
I did my best to sand (by hand) to smooth out the dark start/stop lines and then did another coat to try to smooth it out.
One thing I noticed is how much this raised the grain (terrible!!) After I've done multiple passes with multiple Sanders, the baby-smooth floor now feels like it has a rough 5 o'clock shadow. I could cry!
Am I supposed to be using an electric sander for this? The directions on the can stated it just needed to be "roughed up" for adhesion purposes, but I can't imagine how this horribly rough floor will now be with polyurethane. I'd hate to have to sand that down and redo it.