Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sat May 18, 2024 10:05 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Second subfloor layer?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 9:35 am 
Newbie Contributor

Hello. We decided to install engineered hardwood in our home. I am no pro but am handy and have done lots of DIY including finishing my basement on my own, which including the laminate floor, so I thought, how difficult can it be to install engineered hardwood? Well, we haven't even decided on color yet and here I am in need of expert advice.
Half of our first floor has real hardwood, half has carpet. My first problem? The hardwood is probably one inch thick. The engineered is a lot less. Unless I make up for the lost thickness, the door jambs/trim will not look good without major work (If anyone knows of some way to make this easy, please feel free to suggest....).

So here's where my question comes. Is adding another plywood/particle board layer to the whole first floor something common? Any tips on how to attach to the first layer (Overlap, glued, screwed).

Thanks in advance. i am sure there will be more questions.

Rick.

Profile E-mail  

Amish made hardwood

Post subject: Re: Second subfloor layer?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:11 pm 
Prized Contributor

The layer of underlayment with the engineered on top should total the height of the oak floor.
Find what works at your lumberyard and fasten it down with 2 inch nails 6 inches apart on the edges and 8 inches in the center of the sheets.
Before you fasten anything down, read the instructions for your engineered flooring. You should find that you need to get the sub-floor flat to specifications.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 7:44 pm 
Newbie Contributor

Thanks. I guess I need to start by selecting the floor and make sure there's plywood in the right thickness.

So that's a lot of nails....... :)

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2016 6:00 pm 
Newbie Contributor