Amish made hardwood

It is currently Wed May 01, 2024 9:11 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: slab moisture reading
PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 7:43 pm 
Worthy Contributor

Gary, Ray, Marco, et al:
Just a side question: Lately (since I moved to Arizona) there's so much work here that people are calling me to install as well as finish. I'm an expert in finishing, but I have alot to learn about installation I have the NWFA Manual, I have a feel for wood, and I am able to think(duh!). Anyhow, I enjoy thinking a project through and customizing a recipe for success with the customer.
Question is: When measuring the moisture of a slab, can moisture meters (which kind/brands?) replace a calcium chloride test?
Thanks in advance.
Charlie

Profile E-mail  

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:01 am 
Most Valuable Contributor

Charlie,

As I see it, tesing a slab for moisture is necessary but is not considered foolproof. A calcium cloride test tells you how many lbs. (gal.) of water (moisture vapor) that slab emmitted in a 24 hr period. However, it is good only for that exact spot and for that period of time. Same with moisture meters like Tramex. They will tell you the MC of the concrete at that time and at that location. What about 6 months from now, in the rainy season? Some installers have taking to recommending vapor barriers regardless of the results of moisture tests. Same with some manufacterers who recommend installing over a vinyl vapor barrier. One needs to cover their butt when installing over concrete. Personally, I'd have a waiver of responsibility for the client who didn't want to pay for a vapor barrier. With Taylor's, Bostick's and Franklin's newer moisture barrier systems, it is much easier to provide a secure installation. This is what I'd sell now when I do direct glue downs to slabs. Hope that was helpful.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:29 am 
Worthy Contributor

Gary:
Thanks for the input.