Amish made hardwood

It is currently Tue May 14, 2024 3:46 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Solid 3/4 inch material over concrete slab
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:36 am 
Semi Newbie Contributor

Hi I'm new to this message board. I think this website is spectacular. I've read through all the information pretty thoroughly and I've read several message board pages. I would consider myself one of your peers because I've been using many of the techniques described here for years plus I also have the "I'm the floor expert and if you don't want to do it the right way, get someone else to do it" attitude that many of you have. I also strongly believe in "you get what you pay for".

So with that being said I liked to throw this by you:

My client wants 3/4" solid, square-edged, site finished, 3 to 4 inch wide flooring (species still open) installed in her ranch home (no basement); I think she's a purist. The home has a concrete substrate almost fifty years old. The challenge is that several parts of the home are additions with flooring at diffrent heights. The original part of the house has pre-finished 3/4" engineered wood glued over linoleum that butts up to carpet that has been streched to tackstrips over an asbestoes tile. The prefinished floor also butts up to vinyl flooring in the kitchen that's layed over ???? (there's a metal transition strip commonly used with vinyl flooring there).

Then the newer addition has 1/4" parquet glued directly to the slab. This floor also butts up to kitchen and carpet at different doorways and is considerably lower then these floors (probably one to two inches, but I can't tell exactly yet because the vinyl flooring is sloped to meet the parquet at the doorway and the carpet has some weird wood threshold that looks like a ramp to meet the parquet-i'll have to remove these to get an accurate measurement).