Amish made hardwood

It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 3:56 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Somerset Walnut Solid 4" v. Somerset Walnut Engineered 5"
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 12:06 pm 
New User

Hello All,

I'm new to this forum, so please forgive me if I leave out information or sound like a complete novice here.

We are purchasing our first home, settlement coming this week. Before we move in, we are contracting with a local flooring company to install hardwood floors in the entire main level of our house, plus stairs and upstairs hallway. I'm particularly fond of walnut floors. I absolutely fell in love with Mirage Knotty Walnut, but they do not come with a friendly price tag.

Instead, we are going with the Somerset line of Walnut floors: http://somersetfloors.com/pages/charact ... ut.jpg?v=2

The problem is, we can't decide between the 4" solid or the 5" engineered.

Some info on the house:
(1) We live in the suburbs of DC (Northern Virginia to be exact).
(2) Square Footage for wood floors:
-Main: 1554
-Upstairs Hallway: 122
(3) We are not using the same walnut on the stairs. We'll likely have to get oak and then stain to match.
(4) We were quoted the same 21K for both 4" solid and 5" engineered which includes $2/sqft labor. There is existing ceramic tile that the homeowners did themselves (no underlayment) in the entryway and kitchen/breakfast areas. Pink carpet everywhere else... and I mean everywhere.

Any and all advice to make this decision easier would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance! :D

Profile E-mail  

Amish made hardwood

Post subject: Re: Somerset Walnut Solid 4" v. Somerset Walnut Engineered 5"
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 12:32 pm 
New User

A couple more comments:

- I prefer a wider plank, but not at the expense of a lesser quality product.
- I do realize that there is some expansion risk with solid, wide plank flooring, so solid 5" is not currently an option for us.