Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:44 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Stain, Waterlox, and Oil Poly on Lyptus
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 8:09 pm 
New User

I've reviewed months of this forum and had many of my questions answered, but a few new ones have popped up.
We're flooring a fairly large section of our new home with Lyptus (at least that's the current plan) and will be installing and finishing it ourselves. (We're retired and building this whole house ourselves. I'm not a pro at wood finishing, but consider myself an advanced DIYer.)
I read a post from a Waterlox rep who said you can combine stain with the first coat of Waterlox. Is this the best approach or do you lose some of the depth by taking this shortcut? We got great results on our mahogany front door with a Sikkens product that included stain and sealer, but this may be different.
The comments and pictures of two coats of Waterlox and two coats of oil poly seem quite attractive to me. But if I wanted to get into the house more quickly and fine tune it later, could I live with the Waterlox for a year and then coat it with the poly? Or would I have to "rejuvinate" it with more Waterlox before the poly goes on?

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 12:32 am 
Most Valuable Contributor

Wally,