Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 7:15 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Strap Clamps
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 1:56 am 
Prized Contributor

How many of you out there use Strap Clamps for gluedown?? Just curious about your feedback.

I'm a perfectionist , as most of us pride ourselves on, and I won't install a wood floor without them. I've been installing hardwood flooring now for over 35 years , and with todays milling ,species, characteristics ,and tongue & groove tolerances, I dont see how any installer can havea truly tight installation , without using them. I thought it was because the last 6 years or so I mainly installed Bellawood ( 3/8 gluedown over concrete ).( I was brought up thinking it was tabu to glue solid over concrete). But with the right precautions ( and 3/8 ) no problem. Anyway .... I started using strap clamps as my only solution to have a tight installation with that darn Bellawood ! Without a fight. I got sick of LL & Bellawood last year, for reasons I wont get into. I'm installing all the woods that ProSource carries. And I still find the strap clamps an imperative tool, on every job, for a clean, easy, tight installation. I have done a few sections without the Strap Clamps, since I got hooked on them ( pardon the pun ) , and it's just no comparrison for an easier , professional installation. but curious to what you guys think. Have you tried them on gluedown???

Thanks,
Howard

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Strap Clamps
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 8:47 am 
Prized Contributor

It is rare I need to breakout the strap clamps.

I could see Bellawood would be one I would have to use them on. That stuff is a gapping mess.

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 8:57 am 
Prized Contributor

Strap clamps? What are they? :lol: But seriously, we vary rarely use them at our company, but mostly we do nail down or floating installations which dont require strapping the floor.