Amish made hardwood

It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 8:59 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Stuck like Chuck - what are my options from here
PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 2:53 pm 
New User

Hi all, thanks for having this Forum.

I'm a rank newbie DIY trying to install recovered red oak. As you can see, I don't know how I will the upcoming rows. I have an 18ga. 2" nailer but I don't know if the 18ga. nails are big enough. I may have to go to the pawn shop and get a 16ga nailer. The wall you see is not currently supported by the floor so I'm planning to run the flooring continuous hardwood into the next room and later extend the wall down to the floor for it's permanent support.

So what are my options for continuing this floor.

Thanks Jim

Profile E-mail  

Amish made hardwood

Post subject: Re: Stuck like Chuck - what are my options from here
PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:38 pm 
New User

Below is a link to the image mentioned in post 1 Thanks

http://thewebplace.com/images/flooring2.jpg

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 12:45 am 
Prized Contributor

Use the finish nailer to fasten the flooring as close as possible to the wall. Use sub-floor adhesive to secure the rows that you can not nail. When you can see the tongue of the row that goes under the wall you can use the finish nailer.
You may be able to rent a floor stapler and use 15.5 or 16 gauge staples which hold better than finish nails. The floor stapler will make the job much easier. The 18 gauge nails I use to hold the board until the glue sets. I only use 18 gauge next to the walls, where the glue is what really holds the boards in place.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:28 am 
New User