Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 6:28 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Swirl Marks NEED HELP
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 6:22 pm 
New User

Hey everyone,

Ive been doing hardwood floors for 9 years and been on my own for 3 years now. Ive done TON of jobs and this recent one Im having trouble. I used Fabulon High Gloss polyurethane and been using Fabulon for the past few years with no issues. Story is I sanded 250 sq ft of white Oak floors in the kitchen and just did a screen and recoat in the dining room. I highly recommanded to do all the floors at once, but the homeowner didn't listen. So I did three coats of polyurethane on all the floors. Well I recieved a phone call a few days after I did the work and the homeowner stating theres swirls marks in the finish. I went over there the day after and sure enough theres swirl marks, but that are really fine marks. I told him I would correct them. And then NOW he wanted me to strip down the dining room and do the same thing I did the first time in the kitchen.

On Monday of this week, I went there and did the work. I had my guy strip the dining room while I did the correction of the swirl marks. What I did was I screened them with a new 150 screen and white pad and then vacuumed the area once all the screening was done. Then I put on a new 180 screen and screened the area and then same thing vacuumed once all the 180 screening was done. Then I did a 220 screen and vacuumed it. After vacuuming this time, I put a maroon pad on and vacuumed up afterwards. Once the dining room was all finished stripped down and screened its self, I vacuumed all the areas.