Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 9:03 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Tape seperated Polyurethane from floor
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 10:11 pm 
New User

I applied blue painters tape to a hardwood floor. When I pulled the tape up (next day) some of the Poly came up with the tape, while other areas seperated from the floor. I applied a light coat of poly but it did not finish even. Also, the areas where the poly sperated but didn't pull have air in them. The floor was Poly'd over three weeks ago. I'm a painter and this happend at a customer site. What should I do?

Thank you for your feedback.

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 10:40 pm 
Prized Contributor

Sounds like an adhesion problem with the floor finish.

I know the tape manufacturer recommends not leaving the tape on for more then 24 hours. The floor finish should have been cured, by then.

Are you sure the tape was only on for a few hours of the day?
Can someone credible besides yourself verify that?

If so, you may have a claim with the finishers.

You may need to hire an independent wood flooring inspector in your area, to test the floor finish for adhesion problems.

You may have saved the home owner inadvertently, from having her floors need refinishing faster then they should.

Post subject: What's the Blue Tape for?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:41 am 
New User

I've seen it in several of the pictures, and now in this thread... just curious. What is the blue tape on the floor for? I can see a pattern in how it's laid, but can't for the life of me figure out why!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:56 am 
Most Valuable Contributor