Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sun May 05, 2024 7:51 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: true or false
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:12 pm 
New User

this site is great.I have read alot of the Q and As and learned alot. So I have a few questions myself,about things I have heard.So here I go.Do you need felt paper under 3/4 nail down if it is on the second floor?? Do you have to glue the but joints of 3/4 nail down 4 inches wide or more?? when nailing 3/4 on osb do you have to run strips of const adhesive this of course doing away with felt paper ?? What do you guys think about glueing the last 3 or 4 rows along with nails?? One distributer I deal with sent me a polorid film roll 4 feet wide in place of felt paper (didnt use it) has anyone heard of this?? I think that about does it for now. I look foward to hearing from you guys. Thanks........... Buy the way way please forgive any miss spelled words and errors, I am new at this computer thing and I went to Detroit public schools Its not my fault :)

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:40 pm 
Prized Contributor

Felt paper reduces if not eliminates squeaks that would certainly appear, if you didn't use it. Makes the boards slide easier when installing, too.

Never heard of gluing the but joints of anything but a floating floor! I've heard of pegging the ends in plank flooring, but have never done it myself.

Depends on the OSB. Some of the older(JUNK) I would, as it didn't hold a fastener very well. If I go over OSB I staple instead of cleat, as they hold stronger and have collated ends.

Gluing and nailing is overkill, I usually do one or the other. If you have a picky client, you may want to just glue them as they may have a fit if they see it top nailed. Although it is standard to top nail and not a installation defect.