Amish made hardwood

It is currently Wed May 15, 2024 12:59 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Unique pricing question: 2,500 ft. of Walnut, Shellac...
PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:49 am 
New User

This is likely to be an unusual pricing question. It's related to the thread regarding "2,500 ft. of walnut flooring, shellac, and what not to do."

I'm not a floor finisher. I'm an architectural finisher, applying decorative plasters and faux painting surfaces, mostly walls. Prior to that, I was a studio woodworker, turning out small furniture projects with figured hardwoods and simple but elegant finishes -- mostly shellac and wax, or oil/poly.

As mentioned in the other thread, I stopped a mass-murder of about 3,000 sq. ft. of walnut; the GC wanted to stain all the boards with a dark, almost black MinWax stain. Over the past weeks, the client became convinced that my proposal of Bysahki shellac and wax would give his Tuscany castle remodel a much better look. Now that we have two coats of shellac down, and one section with four coats and wax, the results are clearly superior; the floor looks off-the-hook good. 8)

I led the project. I and two other goons attacked the floor with 2.5" ox-hair brushes (the planks are V-grooved, which helped matters.) Other applicators we tried didn't work out well in test sections... at all. It only took about 5 hours for two coats.

The floor is now covered and protected with plywood while more heavy trades move in. Later, when they're out, we'll unwrap the floor, apply two or three more coats, then top it with two coats of wax. All layers will require hands & knees, TLC application ('cause it's my butt on the line for this, and that's how I know how to do it perfectly.)

Question is: Since I'm not a pro floor finisher, how much should I charge for this job???

The client is certainly not hurting for money. And this finish was a kick-save, which surely counts for something, but, of course, I do want to be fair.