Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:23 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Urethane glue expansion during cure?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:50 am 
New User

Hi All,

I'm a General Contractor, never installed hardwoods before, and am currently putting 700 sf of prefinished 3/4" x 2.25" oak in my own place. Part of the project is a stairway and I'm using stair bullnose moulding and flooring boards for the treads/risers. It is a ways to the nearest flooring store so I purchased urethane adhesive (Roberts R1509) at Home Depot ($129 for 4 gallons). It says it is specifically rated for 3/4 hardwood/bamboo. Anyway, I installed the first 3 treads this afternoon and it looks to me like the urethane is expanding as it cures. It is not much but it is enough to cause a little buckling and some oozing from underneath the bullnose.

I'm wondering if this is typical and how it can be prevented. I really don't want to flash the stuff off because I can't imagine setting the boards in adhesive, pulling them, and resetting them without making a huge mess. I trowelled the urethane per the manufacturers instructions with a 1/4 x 1/4 x 1/4 trowel and set the boards immediately.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

SteveW

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Urethane glue expansion during cure?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 9:19 am 
Prized Contributor

When your troweling the substrate should be clearly visable where the teeth hit. Otherwise your troweling wrong and leaving to much adhesive. I think this job is clearly out of your comfort zone for a GC. :mrgreen: :lol:

IFCII Certified Inspector
Floor Repairs and Installation in Tucson, Az
http://www.tucsonazflooring.com

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 2:39 pm 
New User

I'm pretty sure I'm not putting too much down. I do a lot of tile work and if anything I'm not leaving enough for the trowell notch size.

Have you heard of expansion problems with these urethane adhesives?