Amish made hardwood

It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 2:40 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Wavy/squishy spots on newly installed engineered floor
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:59 pm 
New User

I have a problem, brought on primarily impatience regarding an engineered floor I just installed in my living room. No, I am not a pro, no I did not test for “flatness” and yes, I knew there were major problems with the sub-flooring (plywood). Tried to work around it, actually it worked out well for the most part – the floors look great. However, there are several areas where the new flooring “is not solid when walked on – it “waves” or is "squishy"! These areas are primarily around the edges of one wall and the fireplace wall.

Is there product that could be “injected” between the new floor and sub-flooring from underneath or above to fill in these waves/squishy spots? I have a stand up crawl space under my house, where the sub floor can be accessed. Or do you have any suggestions how to resolve this problem without removing the new flooring, which is out of the question?

Hopeful in Nashville!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 9:18 pm 
Semi Newbie Contributor

did you glue this floor down or nail it?. If you nailed it which adhesive did you use and also what kind of hardwood is it?..solid engineered?..thickness?

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:18 am 
New User

The flooring is 3/8" thick, engineered, glued down with Bruce Everbond. Most molding and finishing has not been installed as yet.

Thanks,

Linda

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 12:29 pm 
Most Valuable Contributor

You could just nail it down in the areas where it is moving. Use a pin/brad nailer and 1" brads. Then putty the holes with a matching filler. It's the easiest way to handle the problem.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 9:43 pm 
Semi Newbie Contributor

Gary has your easy solution.