Amish made hardwood

It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 4:03 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: wavy subfloor
PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 8:01 pm 
New User

I'm a contractor/carpenter with some hardwood flooring experience. I bought a 1880's house from another contractor who didn't finish the rebuild. There's a living room next to a dining room that concern me. Before building the stud wall between these 2 rooms, and their exterior stud walls, the past owner put down 1/2" ply over the original 7/8" th. sap-pine T&G subfloor, so the floor is pretty firm.
But it's not flat (nor level, but that's to be expected). Over the approx. 16' x 25' that's in these 2 rooms the sub floor moves up and down maybe 1.5", and some of the dips are pretty noticeable.
I'm thinking of putting down a 3/4" herringbone pattern floor so I'd like to deal with the flatness issue of the sub floor first. I've tried, unsuccessfully, to find a self leveling pourable product that when dry could be nailed through. Nor have I found a trowelable product I could nail through after it's set up.
I'd rather not add any additional layers to the existing sub floor because of the offset that would be created between these rooms and the others, and taking off the 1/2" ply would be a job since it runs under walls and I think it is glued and nailed down.
How flat do I need for a herringbone pattern floor (pieces would be around 2.5" x 18") and how can I build up the low areas with something other then felt paper, which I don't think would work for more then 3/16"?

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: wavy subfloor
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:35 am 
Worthy Contributor

Your mistake is thinking you can nail down the herringbone in the first place