Amish made hardwood

It is currently Tue May 14, 2024 6:41 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Which bamboo flooring for high altitude, and which sptnailer
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 4:33 pm 
New User

We would like to use solid bamboo flooring, but which one. The "moisture content" reading article states use a known brand of bamboo flooring. We live in Santa Fe, N.M. altitude 7,000 ft. I've read a bunch of articles about bamboo flooring problems ( high moisture content) folks are having who live in high altitudes. We are looking at the "strand bamboo", .55 thick (9/16") x 5" wide. Anyone installing at this altitude have any experience with this product?

I would also like to use the "spotnail floor monster", will this work. I'm a retired contractor and have installed a few floors in my time, nail down as well as a glue down floating bamboo floor. I'm considering the floor monster cause I'm too old to be hunched over a floor nailer all day.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Which bamboo flooring for high altitude, and which sptnailer
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 5:06 pm 
Valued Contributor

I have only installed the Teragren solid stranded bamboo They are a top notch product. Another one that looks very good and want to try is Ambient bamboo. I have used the Spotnailer and it worked fine as soon as you get the proper height and pressure.
harold wrote:
We would like to use solid bamboo flooring, but which one. The "moisture content" reading article states use a known brand of bamboo flooring. We live in Santa Fe, N.M. altitude 7,000 ft. I've read a bunch of articles about bamboo flooring problems ( high moisture content) folks are having who live in high altitudes. We are looking at the "strand bamboo", .55 thick (9/16") x 5" wide. Anyone installing at this altitude have any experience with this product?