Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 4:08 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Winter Split in Oak Floors. Possible Solutions?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:42 pm 
New User

I need some solutions for fixing a crack in my oak floors.

My home was built in 2007 and sat empty until my wife and I purchased in 2009. We purchased the home in the summer. In the winter, the hardwood floors split apart in the middle of our home. Each year, the split disappears in the summer and reappears in the winter. The problem is that the crack is pretty severe during the winter. The crack runs the width of my house, a little over 30', and is almost a 1/4" wide. And the crack runs through the middle of my house.

Any ideas? I really appreciate you taking time to comment/suggest.

Profile E-mail  

Amish made hardwood

Post subject: Re: Winter Split in Oak Floors. Possible Solutions?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2015 4:18 pm 
New User

I am not a professional but had a similar issue in my 1950's ranch with red oak flooring. In the winter, when the humidity would drop because all of the moisture is frozen, the floors would contract leaving spaces (not as severe as what you have) and in the summer the floors would expand do to the increased humidity. The expanding and contracting is natural and putting wood filler between the crack and attempting to match the color likely will not work as it will just be pushed out of the crack when it expands in the summer.

I ended up installing a whole house humidifier which I use in the winter. I installed this because I was tired of waking up with a dry throat not to fix the floors, however I have noticed that the floors do not contract as much as they used to and the gaps are no where near as noticeable. Wait for the professionals to chime in on other possible fixes. However since every board expands and contracts with the humidity I do not think replacing just a few boards will solve your problem.

Profile E-mail