Amish made hardwood

It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 9:08 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: New Installation In Chicago
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 8:48 pm 
Newbie Contributor

We just had a new installation of Mullican Red Oak, the floor looks great,,,, until you get close. Several of the boards are damaged, both on the edges where the boards meet and the ends where the boards meet. The boards look like they are splitting in the edges, down the middle and the ends. I am not an expert but it looks like on the edges the installer hit it with a hammer, because all of the damaged boards are on the edge where the install nails, and the damaged end look like they are from a dull saw. I have contacted the installation company that I purchased the wood from/installer same. The owner said;"he will contact the Mullican representative and then contact me for an appointment the have a look". The owner convinced me of his company and installers to me, and I looked at some of his installs, to me they looked good. Yet I thought something was wrong when the installer arrived and started asking me for allen wrenches to remove his saw blade which appeared dull (it seems when I am good to installers buy drinks, provide lunch they seem to take advantage)..

I guess I am a little pissed off about this issue, having to follup with company and not recieve follow up calls.. I will give them until next week to address this issue... Do we have any recourse!!? I would like to hear from some installers, owners, people with experience.. Customer service and pridfe in your work can go along way to future business, and longevity in a business.

All follups are appreciated

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 3:55 am 
Prized Contributor

Can you post some pictures? Normally there should not be any cuts out in the field. Cuts and rips are around the perimeter and covered by baseboard or a quarter round or base shoe molding.